SF 2470 (200 KB) -- Signed into law by Gov. Mark Dayton on May 29, 2014
Approved: By Senate 46-16, by House 89-40
Effective: May 30, 2014
Commissioner of Health will register two in-state manufacturers for the
production of all medical cannabis within the state. Manufacturers are
required to ensure that the medical cannabis distributed contains a
maximum of a 30-day supply of the dosage determined for that patient.
Smoking is not a method approved by the bill.
Minnesota Department of Health
Medical Cannabis Program
Patient Registry Fee:
$200 / $50 for patients on Social Security disability, Supplemental Security Insurance, or enrolled in MinnesotaCare
Accepts other states' registry ID cards?
||Minnesota Health Statutes 152.01, et seq.
||Less than 42.5 grams: petty misdemeanor ($200 and possible drug education program); 42.5 grams - 10 kilograms: felony (up to 5 yrs. and $5,000); 10 - 50 kilograms: felony (up to 20 yrs. and/or $250,000); 50 - 100 kilograms: felony (up to 25 yrs. and/or $500,000); 100+ kilograms: felony (up to 30 yrs. and/or $1,000,000); Subsequent offense: depends on level of prior offense; if misdemeanor, may be required to participate in chemical dependency evaluation and treatment; more than 1.4 grams inside one's vehicle, except for the trunk: misdemeanor (up to 90 days in jail and/or $1,000 fine).
||Less than 42.5 grams without remuneration: petty misdemeanor with fine of up to $200; 42.5 grams - 5 kilograms: up to 5 yrs. and/or $10,000; 5 - 25 kilograms: up to 20 yrs. and/or $250,000; 25 - 50 kilograms: up to 25 yrs. and/or $500,000; more than 50 kilograms: up to 30 yrs. and/or $1,000,000; 5 kilograms or more in school or park or public housing zone: up to 25 yrs. and/or $500,000